“I See Me” by Michele and Keegan Knott

Nerdy Book Club

“That’s just like me!  I’m like that too!”

“I feel the same way as the character.  I didn’t know someone else feels that way.”

“That’s how I look.  It’s like I’m looking in a mirror.”

“I see me.”

Those are comments I’ve heard over the course of the year since I’ve started realizing the importance of #weneeddiversebooks.  Kids need to see themselves in books – whether it’s characters that look the same as them, have something that is the same as them, or characters going through similar situations.

Emmanuel’s DreamThe book Emmanuel’s Dream:  The True Story of Emmanuel Ofosu Yeboah by Laurie Ann Thompson is a beautiful story that introduces us to Emmanuel.   He is a boy who is not afraid to try, who grows into a man who fights for the right of disabled children.

We are first introduced to Emmanuel when he was born in Ghana, West Africa.  And…

View original post 929 more words

Leave a Reply

